Men’s Olympic soccer qualifying in North and Central America and the Caribbean was rescheduled Thursday for March 18-30 in Guadalajara, Mexico where the tournament originally was set to be played last spring.

The United States, which failed to qualify for the 2012 and 2016 Olympics, is in Group A of CONCACAF with Mexico, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic.

Honduras, Canada, El Salvador and and Haiti are in Group B.

Each nation will play the other three teams in its group, with the exact schedule still to be announced. The top two teams in each group advance to the semifinals, and the semifinal winners qualify for the Tokyo Games.

Matches will be played at Jalisco and Akron stadiums, home of Liga MX sides Atlas and Chivas, respectively.

The U.S. had been scheduled to play Costa Rica last March 20, the Dominican Republic three days later, and Mexico on March 26, but the CONCACAF tournament was postponed on March 13 because of the coronavirus pandemic. The men’s Olympic soccer tournament was postponed a year — to July 21 through Aug. 7, 2021.

FIFA has kept the same eligibility rules that were first established, saying players must be born after Jan. 1, 1997. Clubs are not required to release players to teams for qualifying, so many top young players are expected to miss the tournament. U.S. under-23 coach Jason Kreis does not expect players who are club regulars to be made available, a group that includes Christian Pulisic, Weston McKennie, Tyler Adams, Sergino Dest and Giovanni Reyna.

Women’s Olympic qualifying in CONCACAF took place before the pandemic. The defending champion U.S. and Canada qualified.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Barca sell more assets in race to register stars
Sources: Thiago out for up to six weeks
MLS beats Liga MX but All-Star Game a win for both leagues
Zimmerman: MLS vs. Liga MX stars ‘a new step’
USMNT’s Hoppe signs for Middlesbrough

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.